Governors of Victoria

The State of Victoria (previously the Colony of Victoria) has had 29 Governors. Until 1855, the Governor-General of New South Wales appointed Lieutenant-Governors to Victoria. The well-known Charles La Trobe was the colony’s first Lieutenant-Governor, but the honour of the first Governor of Victoria went to Victoria’s second Lieutenant-Governor, Captain Charles Hotham.


Charles HothamCaptain Sir Charles Hotham RN KCB


For more information on Victoria's Governors, including term dates and links to their biographies, see Former Governors of Victoria.